Dog License

Visit our online Dog Licensing system at http://www.doglicenses.us/oh/highland

Frequently Asked Questions

Where do I buy a dog license in Highland County?
You can now purchase licenses online at http://www.doglicenses.us/oh/highland. You can also purchase a license by mail or in person at the County Auditor’s Office any time during the year. During renewal time of December 1 through January 31, several locations around Highland County also issue dog licenses. Call the Auditor’s Office at (937) 393-1915 to find out what locations are selling. Kennel licenses must be purchased in the County Auditor's Office.

What is the cost of a license in Highland County?
Effective December 1, 2009, the cost of each dog license is $14.00.

When must I buy a license for a new dog?
If you acquire a puppy, you must buy the license by the time the puppy reaches three months old. If you have just moved to Highland County or if you have acquired a new dog, you must purchase a license within 30 days.

What if I forget to purchase the license during renewal time of December 1 through January 31?
Ohio law specifies that the cost of the license doubles.

Who may purchase a kennel license?
Commercial breeders of dogs are the only ones that can purchase a kennel license. Proof of a vendor’s license must be shown. Kennel licenses must be purchased in the County Auditor's Office. A kennel license is for 5 licenses and then a charge of $1.00 per additional license. Just having more than 5 dogs does not qualify for a kennel license.

What if I move?
If you move within Highland County, please notify the County Auditor’s Office to update your information. If you move to another county, please call the County Auditor’s Office for licensing information.

Why do I need to license my dog?
First, Ohio law requires that you license your dog. Second, a license attached to your dog’s collar proves ownership and is your pet’s ticket home if he gets lost.


Further questions?
If you find a dog with a license and want to learn the owner, please call the County Auditor’s Office at (937) 393-1915 with the license number and year of license. If there is no license, please call the dog warden at the Sheriff’s Office at (937) 393-1421.